Eagan High School girls hockey record-setter Natalie Darwitz and former Farmington and Lakeville school administration Byron Olson are part of the 2019 induction class for the Minnesota State High School League Hall of Fame.

Khalid El-Amin, a member of three state boys basketball championship teams at Minneapolis North and now an assistant coach at Burnsville High School, also will be among those inducted Oct. 20 in St. Paul.

Darwitz scored 487 points in 102 games from seventh through 10th grade. She was a member of the U.S. National Team as a high school junior and senior. She skated on three U.S. Olympic teams, two of which won silver medals, and was a three-time All-American at the University of Minnesota, where she is third on the school’s career scoring list. Darwitz moved into coaching at Lakeville South High School, leading the Cougars to a state tournament appearance. She is head women’s hockey coach at Hamline University, which finished third in the 2019 NCAA Division III tournament.

Darwitz was inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in December 2018.

Olson was athletic director at Lakeville North High School when he retired in 2009. Before that he was athletic director at Monticello, Farmington and Benson. He also was a teacher and coach at Benson High School. He is a longtime wrestling and football official and has been manager of the Minnesota high school state tournament since 2000.

El-Amin was starting point guard on two Minneapolis North teams that won state championships in the Sweet Sixteen format, then led the Polars to the first large-school title under the current four-class format. He went on to the University of Connecticut, where he helped the Huskies win the 1999 NCAA national championship, and was selected by the Chicago Bulls in the NBA Draft.

Also in the induction class are Alexandria coach and educator Dave Harris, Fairmont speech and debate coach Dave Harris, six-time state champion girls basketball coach Faith Johnson Patterson, hockey official Bill Kronschnabel, athletic trainer Gary Smith, Edina music educator Bill Webb, and the Grand Meadow girls basketball program, which won 94 consecutive games from 1929-39.

The induction ceremony is 1 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 20, at the InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront Hotel. For ticket information contact the Minnesota State High School League office at 763-560-2262 or visit www.mshsl.org and click on the 2019 Hall of Fame link on the home page.

May joins Gophers

Burnsville native Greg May has joined the University of Minnesota men’s hockey program as director of operations.

May is a former assistant boys hockey coach at Burnsville High School and former head boys coach at Farmington High School. For the last three years he was head boys hockey coach and assistant director of athletics at Blake.

May led Farmington to the state Class AA tournament in 2016, the first time in 16 years the Tigers had played at state and the first time they qualified in the large-school division.

He is a 2003 Burnsville High School graduate and is a three-time All-Lake Conference player. May played hockey in college at Augsburg and earned a bachelor’s degree in health education. He received a master’s in education leadership from Concordia-St. Paul. May also was a health and physical education teacher in School District 191 for eight years.

State amateur baseball

The Eagan Bandits’ trip to the state Class B men’s amateur baseball tournament lasted just one game. The Bandits lost to the Moorhead Brewers 5-4 in a first-round game Sunday in Dassel.

Moorhead took a 4-0 lead in the first inning. Justin Weinberg and Jake Ossell had two hits and one run batted in each for Eagan, which finished 14-11-1.

New Market, which has a number of Dakota County players on its roster, plays its first game in the Class C tournament Sunday afternoon. The Muskies play Luverne at 4:30 p.m. in Maple Lake, with the winner advancing to a round-of-16 game against New London-Spicer or Mora at 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 30, also in Maple Lake. The championship game of the Class C tourney is noon Monday, Sept. 2, in Delano.

Load comments