A number of local high school hockey players will compete in the Ted Brill Great 8 Festival this weekend at Doug Woog Arena in South St. Paul.

Originally, the event was strictly an all-star series for the state’s top seniors. Several years ago, juniors were added to the festival. Players from both pools will be evaluated throughout the series for possible selection to Minnesota teams for the CCM Minnesota High School Hockey National Invitational Tournament held in late April in Plymouth.

Defenseman Davis Carlson of Eastview, forward Adam Harvey of Lakeville South, forward Shane Griffin of Lakeville North and forward Quinn Rudrud of Farmington are on the combined Section 1/Section 3 senior team. That team will have pool-play games at 5:30 p.m. Friday and 10:15 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. Saturday.

Goalie Evan Melville of Apple Valley, defenseman Mason Campbell of Rosemount, defenseman Joseph Prouty of Apple Valley, forward Joshua Eernisse of Eastview, forward Reed Kadrlik of Farmington, forward Henry Reiff of Eagan and goalie Caleb Mayer of Lakeville North are on the Section 1/Section 3 team for the High Performance 18 tournament, open to high school juniors who were born in 2001. That team has pool-play games at 5 p.m. Friday, 9:45 a.m. Saturday and 5:15 p.m. Saturday.

On Sunday there will be crossover games between teams from the two pools at 8, 9:45 and 11:30 a.m. as well as 1:15 p.m.

After the festival, 20 seniors and 20 juniors will be chosen for the Minnesota teams that will play in the National Invitational Tournament beginning April 25 at Plymouth Ice Center. Teams from Wisconsin, North Dakota, Michigan and Massachusetts also competed in last year’s tournament.

Hall of Fame members

Mike Dreier, a 1969 Burnsville High School graduate and the winningest coach in Minnesota high school girls basketball history, was inducted into the Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Dreier is one of 15 members of the second annual induction class, which was introduced at Tuesday night’s Timberwolves game at Target Center. The induction class also includes longtime Rocori boys head coach Bob Brink; recently retired NBA player Kris Humphries; Ken Novak Jr., whose Hopkins High School boys teams have won eight state championships; and Kelly and Coco Miller, twin sisters from Rochester Mayo who were dominant girls players in the mid-1990s.

Dreier, who has been head girls coach at New London-Spicer for 41 years, has been the career leader in victories since 1995. He has more than 900 victories overall. His teams have two state championships and five runner-up finishes.

Burnsville High School inducted Dreier into its hall of fame in 2015. He played football, basketball and baseball there, and was all-conference in basketball in his senior year. Dreier also helped establish the girls basketball program in the Burnsville Athletic Club.

Chad Erikson, a four-time state champion for Apple Valley from 1994 to 1997, will be inducted into the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame on May 4 in Benson.

Erikson was 195-15 as a high school wrestler. He placed fourth at the state tournament at 106 pounds as an eighth-grader, then won that weight class the next year. He also won at 119 as a sophomore and 130 in his junior and senior years.

He was a two-time All-American at the University of Minnesota and wrestled on NCAA championship teams in 2001 and 2002. Erikson’s college record was 195-15. Erikson remains involved with wrestling as a camp director for the Minnesota Elite program.

New coaches

Several new coaches will guide local high school soccer teams this fall.

John Christiansen will be head coach of the Apple Valley girls soccer team, succeeding Keith Randa, who retired after 35 years in the program, the last 29 as head coach.

Christiansen had been an assistant coach in the Apple Valley boys program since 1997 and was part of five state championship teams, including back-to-back state winners in 1997 and 1998, and 2009 and 2010. He also has been involved in youth soccer in the community for about 25 years.

He was an assistant girls hockey coach for 12 years and has been Apple Valley’s head girls golf coach since 1999. Christiansen was named section coach of the year in girls golf in 2012 and 2014.

Christiansen is a business education teacher at Apple Valley High School.

Jason Obarski will be head girls soccer coach at Eastview, succeeding David Herem, who had been the Lightning’s coach since 2008. Obarski has been head women’s soccer coach at Dakota County Technical College, head boys coach at Farmington High School and a staff coach in the University of Minnesota men’s club program. He also has extensive coaching experience at the club level. He is an academic and financial aid advisor at DCTC.

Obarski is an Apple Valley High School graduate, where he earned All-State honors in soccer and football and was on the all-tournament team in soccer. As a senior, he was the leading goal scorer on a team that finished third in the state tournament.

He went to North Dakota State to kick and punt for the football team before transferring to St. Olaf College, where he earned all-conference and set a school record with a 79-yard punt.

Brett Kosidowski becomes head coach of the Dakota United CI Division adapted soccer team replacing Tom Grothe, who retired from teaching and coaching.

Kosidowski now will be a head coach in all three seasons of adapted sports. He also serves as head coach of Dakota United’s CI Division floor hockey and PI Division softball teams. Dakota United is an adapted sports cooperative that includes Apple Valley, Eagan, Eastview and Rosemount high schools.

Kosidowski has coached Dakota United teams since 2006, starting as junior varsity floor hockey team coach. He also directs the Hawk Summer Sports Camps for students with autism and physical and cognitive disabilities. A physical education and health teacher at Rosemount Middle School, Kosidowski has been president of the Minnesota Adapted Coaches Association the last two years.

Load comments