One incumbent on the St. Louis Park School Board won re-election while another missed the cut. Three new members have been elected to the board.

The winners are Heather Wilsey, Laura McClendon, C. Colin Cox and incumbent Ken Morrison, according to unofficial results from the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office.

Eight candidates ran for four seats up for election this year. Incumbent Jim Beneke was among the candidates that did not win one of the available seats.

The results indicate that Wilsey received 3,506 votes, or more than 18% of the total cast in the race. McClendon had the second-largest vote tally, with 3,212 votes, or nearly 17% of the total. Cox received 2,756 votes, or more than 14%. Morrison received 2,395 votes, or less than 13%.

Beneke missed the cut by fewer than 200 votes, as he received 2,228 votes, or less than 12% of the total. Kari Ross, a former St. Louis Park School District administrator, also did not win a seat. Ross received 1,759 votes, or slightly more than 9%. Jim Leuthner finished with nearly the same percentage, taking in 1,744 votes. Jessica Janoski received slightly more than 7% of the vote total with 1,428 votes. Voters also cast 95 write-in votes.

Unlike St. Louis Park municipal races, school districts in the state do not use ranked-choice voting. The candidates who receive the highest vote totals win the available number of seats.

Load comments