The National Merit Scholarship Program has named students who attend schools in St. Louis Park as national merit semifinalists.

The students at St. Louis Park High School to achieve the honor are Thorwald G. Anderson, Daniel N. Goldenberg, Gabriel M. Kaplan, Dahlia R. Krebs and Joshua D. Krueger.

The students at Benilde-St. Margaret’s, a private school located in St. Louis Park, are Hans Backes, Charles Damberg and Oriana Sampson.

The high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for about 7,600 scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for an award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Over 90% of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a scholarship, earning the merit scholar title.


Load comments