The National Merit Scholarship Program has named three Eagle Ridge Academy students and 15 Minnetonka High School students as semifinalists.

The Eagle Ridge students are Sridhatri R. Guntipally, Henry I. Long and Edward A. Mnuskin.

The Minnetonka students are Aidan J. Barker, Julian A.Byrne, Lucca R. Carlson, Austin J. Hunter, Alex L. Iliarski, Crystal F. Lin, Winston Y. Lu, Kelsey S. Lunzer, Maya J. Moy, Dylan R. Olson, Grace E. Roemig, Grant Thomas, Rebekah S. Thomasson, Nathan W. Turcotte and Ming Ying Yeoh.

The high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for about 7,600 scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for an award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Over 90% of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a scholarship, earning the merit scholar title.


Copyright © 2020 at Sun Newspapers. Digital dissemination of this content without prior written consent is a violation of federal law and may be subject to legal action.

Load comments