Steve Adams, Shannon Andreson, Tanya Khan and Katie O’Shea Pederson were elected to four seats on the Hopkins School Board.

According to unofficial results from the Secretary of State, Andreson received 3,397 votes or 19.08%, O’Shea Pederson received 3,180 votes or 17.86%, Adams received 2,782 votes or 15.63% and Khan received 2,699 votes or 15.16%.

Kris Newcomer, who was running for re-election, received 2,461 votes or 13.82%. David Larson, who was also running for re-election received 1,931 votes or 10.85%. Benjamin Karls received 1,256 votes or 7.06%.

The four seats are currently held by Newcomer, Larson, Adams and Wendy Donovan, who did not seek re-election.

The newly elected board members will begin four year terms in January.

Andreson said the night of the election, “Thank you to everyone in the community for believing in me and being confident in my abilities to represent them on the school board. I’m really, really honored and excited to continue my to continue my advocacy for Hopkins’ school families. I had a lot of help from a lot of wonderful people who believe in Hopkins Public Schools,  but my favorite thing to do was to go out into the community and talk to families, and I feel like that really made a difference.” 

Follow the Sun Sailor on Facebook at

Load comments