Voters have narrowed the field of candidates for three seats on the Hennepin County Board Commission. The top two candidates in the Aug. 11 Primary Election advance to the Nov. 3 General Election.

In District 1, De’Vonna Pittman received 11,588 votes, Jeffrey Lunde received 9,352 votes and MaryJo Melsha received 4,559 votes, according to unofficial results from the Secretary of State.

District 1 includes Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, New Hope, Osseo and Robbinsdale. Mike Opat, of Robbinsdale, is the current commissioner and is not seeking re-election. Opat has served as the district’s commissioner since 1993.

Lunde is the mayor of Brooklyn Park and an IT manager. Melsha is retired from the sales and service industry and lives in Brooklyn Park. Pittman is a project coordinator for Hennepin County and lives in New Hope.

In District 6, Chris LaTondresse received 12,592 votes and Dario Anselmo received 8,265 votes to advance to the fall election, according to the unofficial results posted by the Secretary of State.

Brad Aho received 7,000 votes, Kimberly Wilburn received 4,950 votes, Cheri Sudit received 4,730 votes and Carmella Doby received 1,720 votes.

District 6 includes Deephaven, northern Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, northern Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata and Woodland. Jan Callison, of Minnetonka, is the current commissioner and is not seeking re-election. Callison has served as the district’s commissioner since 2009.

Aho, of Eden Prairie, is a member of the Eden Prairie City Council, chief technology officer for Erickson Technologies and a real estate small business owner. Anselmo, of Edina, is in commercial real estate and a former state legislator. Doby is from Hopkins. LaTondresse, of Hopkins, is vice president of strategy and communications for The Expectations Project and vice chair of the Hopkins School Board. Sudit, of Minnetonka, is an attorney in the Hennepin County Attorney’s Office. Wilburn is an office administrator and lives in Minnetonka.

In District 7, Kevin Anderson and Danny Nadeau will advance, with 11,178 and 7,705 votes, respectively. Kim Zellers received 7,021 votes, according to the unofficial results posted by the Secretary of State.

District 7 includes Champlin, Corcoran, Dayton, Greenfield, Hanover, Independence, Loretto, Maple Grove, Maple Plain, Medina, Minnetrista, Mound, Rogers, Rockford, northwest Plymouth and St. Bonifacius.

Anderson is a solution architect who lives in Maple Grove. Nadeau is the assistant to Jeff Johnson, the current commissioner who is not seeking re-election, and lives in Rogers. Zellers, of Maple Grove, is a teacher.

The candidates will be featured in voter guides printed in the Sun papers and posted at or in advance of the Tuesday, Nov. 3, General Election.

Copyright © 2020 at Sun Newspapers. Digital dissemination of this content without prior written consent is a violation of federal law and may be subject to legal action.

Load comments