New Hope residents vote in the 2018 primaries.

The ballot will be full for New Hope and Golden Valley voters Tuesday, Nov. 6, including municipal and school board elections, a school referendum decision, and federal, state and county races.

Polling locations will be open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

To find a polling location, visit the Minnesota Secretary of State website pollfinder.sos.state.mn.us. For more information on voting requirements and eligibility, go to sos.state.mn.us.

Voters guides featuring interviews with candidates for local races were published in recent editions of the Sun Post and can be found online at post.mnsun.com.

Watch for results

Election results will be posted on election night to the Secretary of State’s results page: mnvotesinfo.sos.state.mn.us/election-results. Results will also be posted online at post.mnsun.com as soon as they are available and updated throughout the evening as they are reported.

New Hope City Council

Two seats are up for election on the New Hope City Council. Both incumbents, John Elder and Jonathan London, are running unopposed.

Robbinsdale Area School Board

While five candidates filed for four seats on the Robbinsdale Area School Board, the race has since become uncontested as one of the original candidates, Michael Irving Greene, has suspended his candidacy. His name will remain on the ballot.

The four candidates seeking election are Sam Sant of Robbinsdale, and incumbents David Boone, Michael Herring and Pam Lindberg. The open seat is currently served by Patsy Green, who decided not to seek re-election.

Also on the ballot for voters in the district will be this levy referendum question:

“The board of Independent School District No. 281 (Robbinsdale) has proposed to increase its general education revenue by $515 per pupil. The school district’s actual referendum revenue authorization for any year shall not exceed the statutory maximum for that year. The proposed referendum revenue authorization would increase each year by the rate of inflation and be applicable for ten years, beginning with taxes payable in 2019, unless otherwise revoked or reduced as provided by law.”

If passed, the referendum would generate nearly $6 million per year for the school district over the next 10 years.

Minnesota House

In District 45A, voters will decide between Republican candidate Reid Johnson of New Hope and incumbent DFLer Lyndon Carlson of Crystal. The district covers the northeast portion of Plymouth, along with the cities of New Hope, Golden Valley, Crystal and Robbinsdale.

In District 45B, incumbent DFLer Mike Freiberg is running against Republican Steve Merriman. The district includes all of Robbinsdale and parts of Crystal, New Hope and Golden Valley.

In District 46A, the candidates are DFLer Ryan Winkler and Republican Luke McCusker. District 46A encompasses the southeast portion of Plymouth and all of Medicine Lake, as well as the northern section of St. Louis Park and the southern section of Golden Valley.

Hennepin County

In the Hennepin County District 2 election, Irene Fernando will face Blong Yang. District 2 represents Medicine Lake, southeast Plymouth, Golden Valley, north and northeast Minneapolis and St. Anthony.

Voters will also cast ballots for Hennepin County Sheriff and can choose either Rich Stanek and Dave Hutchinson. The county attorney candidates are Mike Freeman and Mark Haase.

Statewide and national races

Voters across the state will cast their ballots for both U.S. Senate seats. Sen. Amy Klobuchar, DFL, is challenged by Republican Jim Newberger. Sen. Tina Smith, DFL, and Republican Karin Housley are running in the special election caused by Sen. Al Franken’s resignation.

The candidates for Congressional District 5 include Ilhan Omar, DFL-Minneapolis, and Jennifer Zielinski, R-Minneapolis. The district includes all or parts of Minneapolis, Brooklyn Center, Columbia Heights, Crystal, Edina, Fort Snelling, Fridley, Golden Valley, Hilltop, Hopkins, New Brighton, New Hope, Richfield, Robbinsdale, St. Anthony Village, St. Louis Park and Spring Lake Park.

The major party candidates for governor and lieutenant governor are Republicans Jeff Johnson and Donna Bergstrom and DFLers Tim Walz and Peggy Flanagan. The major party candidates for statewide offices include Steve Simon and John Howe for secretary of state, Pam Myhra and Julie Blaha for state auditor, and Keith Ellison and Doug Wardlow for attorney general.

Follow the Sun Post on Facebook at facebook.com/mnsunpost.

Load comments