Campaigning will come to an end Tuesday, Nov. 6 as voters across the state and nation determine the outcome of elections at many levels.

Polls in both Brooklyn Park and Brooklyn Center will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Nov. 6.

To find your polling location, view a sample ballot or a list of candidates that will appear on your ballot, and to view additional voting information, visit the Secretary of State’s website at

Below is a recap of races that will be included on ballots in Brooklyn Center and Brooklyn Park, depending on the location of your residence.

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

Jeff Johnson and Donna Bergstrom (GOP)

Tim Walz and Peggy Flanagan (DFL)

U.S. Senate

Jim Newberger (GOP)

Amy Klobuchar (DFL), incumbent

US Senate Special Election

Karin Housley (GOP)

Tina Smith (DFL), incumbent

U.S. Congress, District 3

Dean Philips (DFL)

Erik Paulsen (GOP), incumbent

US Congress, District 5

Jennifer Zielinski (GOP)

Ilhan Omar (DFL)

Minnesota House District 36B

Jermain Botsio (GOP)

Melissa Hortman (DFL), incumbent

Minnesota House District 40A

David True (GOP)

Michael Nelson (DFL), incumbent

Minnesota House District 40B

Robert Marvin (GOP)

Samantha Vang (DFL)

Brooklyn Park Mayor

Hollies Winston

Jeff Lunde

Brooklyn Center Mayor

Mike Elliott

Tim Willson

Brooklyn Center City Council, elect two

Don Bumgarner

Alois Bilek

Dan Ryan, incumbent

April Graves, incumbent

Brooklyn Park City Council, East District

Marta Yakovleva

Terry Parks, incumbent

Brooklyn Park City Council, Central District

Christian Eriksen

Tonja West-Hafner

Brooklyn Park City Council, West District

Wynfred Russell

Bob Mata, incumbent

Brooklyn Park Natural Resource Protection and Park Improvement Bond

Brooklyn Park has requested authorization to issue general obligation bonds in an amount not to exceed $26 million to provide funds to improve and develop recreational trails, reinvest in neighborhood parks, preserve and protect natural resource areas and construct new recreation facilities. If approved, the city will implement a park, trail and natural resource plan. If not approved, the city will maintain its current park system but will not develop new park buildings or trails.

Robbinsdale Area School District, elect four

Michael Irving Greene

Samir (Sam) Sant

Michael J. Herring, incumbent

Pamela (Pam) Lindberg incumbent

David Boone, incumbent

Robbinsdale Area Schools Operating Referendum

The board of Independent School District No. 281 (Robbinsdale) has proposed to increase its general education revenue by $515 per pupil. If voters approve the request, the funding will support the district’s program needs including elective courses, Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate programming, arts programming, and staff development. If voters do not approve the request, the district will face $11 million in budget cuts over the next three years.

Three Rivers Park Commissioner, District 2

Gary L. Connett

Jennifer DeJournett, incumbent

Osseo Area Schools board member, elect three

David Dostal

Sizi G. Goyah

Kelsey Dawson Walton

Cindy Shevlin-Woodcock

Miamon Queeglay

Dan Hobot

Tanya Simons

Heidi R. Clayman

Brigitte Alexander

Jessica Craig, incumbent

Osseo Area Schools Special Election for board member

Jackie Mosqueda-Jones

James E. Burgett, incumbent

Brooklyn Center School Board Member, elect three

Benjamin Woksonsommers

John W. Solomon

Cheryl Jechorek

Voting guidelines

Voters must be at least 18 years old on election day, a citizen of the United States and a resident of Minnesota for at least 20 days. Voters with a felony conviction after you finish all parts of a sentence including any probation, parole or supervised release. Voters may not be under court-ordered guardianship where a court has revoked voting rights and may not be ruled legally incompetent by a court of law.

Voters who are not registered in their precinct may register and vote on election day. To register, voters must present one of several forms of identification with their name and current address at their polling place. Accepted forms of identification include a Minnesota driver’s license, learner’s permit or identification card, or a receipt for the application. Also accepted are U.S. passports, military identification cards, tribal identification cards or state university, college or technical college photo identification cards, if the college has provided a student housing list to election officials.

A valid registration in the same precinct under a different name or address, or a notice of late registration sent by the county auditor or city clerk is also accepted.

A registered voter in the precinct may also vouch for an unregistered voter with a signed oath.

Photo identification with a voter’s former addresses, when presented along with a rent statement or utility bill from the voter’s new precinct address, will be accepted for Election Day registration. The utility bill must be issued in the 30 days prior to Election Day.

You can check your registration status on the Secretary of State’s website.

Follow Kevin Miller on Facebook at

Copyright © 2018 at Sun Newspapers/ APG Media of East Central Minnesota. Digital dissemination of this content without prior written consent is a violation of federal law and may be subject to legal action.

Load comments