The Edina Crime Prevention Fund is accepting nominations for the 2020 Mike Siitari Officer of the Year Award.

Each year, the Crime Prevention Fund recognizes an Edina Police Officer who has gone above and beyond the call of duty on the job. City staff and community members are encouraged to submit nominations for Edina officers who demonstrated exceptional service in 2020. Individuals eligible for nomination must be current police officers for the Edina.

For more than 50 years, the Edina Crime Prevention Fund has supported and provided funds to the Police Department as a community partner. The organization has presented an award annually since 2011 to recognize exceptional officers deserving of special recognition. Last year’s award was given to Officer Darren Davis, who joined the force in 2015.

The Officer of the Year Award is named after Mike Siitari, who served as Police Chief from 1999 to 2009 during his 31-year tenure with the Edina Police Department. Members of the Edina Crime Prevention Fund select winners. Additional past recipients of the award include Officers Dave Lindman, Jake Heckert and Mike Seeger; Detectives Mike Lutz, Erik Amundson and Joel Moore; and Sgt. Kevin Rofidal.

To nominate a candidate, submit the name of the officer and a few sentences describing the nominee’s achievements. Nominations are due 4:30 p.m. Friday, March 12. Winners will be announced on the Edina Crime Prevention Fund website,, and recognized at an Edina City Council meeting.

Send written nominations for the award to Julie Norgren at or the Edina Crime Prevention Fund; Re: Officer of the Year; 4801 W. 50th St.; Edina, MN 55424.

For more information, contact the Edina Police Department at 952-826-1610.

Load comments