Richfield’s Minnesota House and Senate representation will remain largely unchanged in 2023 as the Democratic-Farmer-Labor incumbents defeated their Republican challengers.

Democrat Melissa Halvorson Wiklund will return to St. Paul, continuing to represent voters in Richfield and eastern Bloomington in the new Senate District 51. She defeated Republican challenger Frank Pafko by earning nearly 70% of the vote. Wiklund received 23,141 votes while Pafko received 10,049.

richfield election day

Richfield election judge Milissa Carter, foreground, and judge Rosemary Bernau organize the ballots cast at Richfield Precinct 1 after the polls closed at 8 p.m. Nov. 8. Ballots cast in Richfield included an at-large seat on the Richfield City Council, which was won by Sharon Christensen. (Sun Current staff photo by Mike Hanks)

Copyright © 2022 at Sun Newspapers/ APG Media of East Central Minnesota. Digital dissemination of this content without prior written consent is a violation of federal law and may be subject to legal action.

Load comments