Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse awards to be presented at the DoubleTree Hotel in St. Louis Park

While the final eight lacrosse teams compete for the 2019 state boys and girls lacrosse titles, the Minnesota Minute Men will present individual awards during the annual ceremony at 2 p.m. Sunday, June 16, at DoubleTree Hotel in St. Louis Park. 

The top seven senior players will be honored as finalists for the Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Award and Jake Anderson Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse Goalie Award.

Eden Prairie’s CJ Froemming, Brooke Lewis and Kacie Riggs will be joined by Minnie Bittell (Minnteonka), Eloise Cherian (Breck), Shea Kerry (Chanhassen) and Kelsey Viger (Prior Lake) for the Ms. Lacrosse Award.

Eden Prairie’s Emilie Bloyer and Prior Lake’s Grace Mattox are finalists for the senior goalie award.

Finalists for the Mr. Lacrosse Award include Minnetonka’s Grant Brunsvold and Andrew DiFrancesco, Blake Evensen (Stillwater), Jake Mohler (East Ridge), Thomas Purfeest (Rosemount), Luke Williams (St. Thomas Academy) and Quentin Matsui (Eden Prairie).

The public is encouraged to attend and purchase online tickets through through June 15 but tickets are available at the door. 

Festivities begin with a social half-hour followed by hot appetizers at 2:30 p.m. A short program will follow where each finalist will be briefly interviewed by the banquet’s master of ceremonies. 

The Minnesota Minute Men host and coordinate the Minnesota Mr. Hockey Award, the Play Ball! Minnesota Mr. Baseball and Ms. Softball Awards among other recognition banquets with the purpose to do goodwill through sports. 

The Minute Men was organized to help attract major league baseball and the national football league to Minnesota by supporting civic, city and business leaders in building a stadium in Bloomington, eventually to be known as Metropolitan Stadium.

The Minneapolis Minute Men were officially organized in 1956 with the St. Paul Minute Men established in 1960 and the two groups reorganized into Minnesota Men, LTD on Dec. 1, 1995.


Follow Jason Olson on Twitter @SunSportsJason.

Follow Jason Olson on Twitter at @SunSportsJason.

Copyright © 2019 at Sun Newspapers/ APG Media of East Central Minnesota. Digital dissemination of this content without prior written consent is a violation of federal law and may be subject to legal action.

Load comments