The first of two rounds of voting for Bloomington’s city council election takes place on Tuesday.

Ballots have already been cast at Bloomington Civic Plaza, but for those not interested in voting early, the city’s 32 precincts will welcome voters from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 13.

The city has primary elections in three of its four races on November’s ballot.

Five candidates are seeking to replace Mayor Gene Winstead, who will step down at the conclusion of this year, completing 20 years as the council’s leader. Seeking to replace Winstead are Councilmember Tim Busse, who is vacating his at-large seat on the council, Sharon Christensen, Rainer Einsmann, Ryan Kulka and Dan Niziolek.

Four candidates are seeking to replace Busse as an at-large representative on the council: Jenna Carter, Brian “Clem” Clemens, Judy Gelina and Larry James Hotchkiss.

The city’s District 1 seat has three candidates seeking to represent the southeast portion of the city. Incumbent Dwayne Lowman is being challenged by Johnathon McClellan and Al Noard.

The top two candidates in each race will advance to the November ballot, where they’ll be joined by the District 2 candidates. Councilmember Shawn Nelson is seeking re-election and will be challenged by Susan “Hofmeister” Woodruff for the seat representing the southwestern portion of the city.

To be eligible to vote, a Bloomington resident must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years old on Election Day, a resident of Minnesota for 20 days prior to the election and finished with all parts of any felony sentence. Voters who are not registered in their Bloomington precinct may register and vote on Election Day.

Bloomington has 32 precincts. Precinct 24 will vote at Community of the Cross Lutheran Church this year, the same as Precinct 23. Voters in Precinct 21 will vote at Richardson Nature Center for the primary only.

A map of the precincts, the polling places and their addresses are available through the city’s website. The Secretary of State’s website will identify which precinct Bloomington residents live in. The information is available online at

Additional voting information, including League of Women Voters candidate videos, is available online at Sun Current candidate profiles are available online at

Primary election results will appear online Tuesday night, Aug. 13, at, and in the Aug. 22 edition of the Bloomington Sun-Current.

Follow Bloomington community editor Mike Hanks on Twitter at @suncurrent and on Facebook at suncurrentcentral.


1: Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge, 3815 American Blvd. E.

2: Portland Ave. United Methodist Church, 8000 Portland Ave.

3: Cedar Valley Church, 8600 Bloomington Ave.

4: Unity South Church, 7950 First Ave.

5: Southtown Baptist Church, 2600 W. 82nd St.

6: Bloomington Lutheran Church, 9350 Portland Ave.

7: Atonement Lutheran Church, 601 E. Old Shakopee Road

8: Grace Covenant Church, 10201 Nicollet Ave.

9: Nativity of Mary Catholic Church, 9900 Lyndale Ave.

10: St. Luke’s Lutheran Church, 1701 W. Old Shakopee Road

11: Bloomington City Hall, 1800 W. Old Shakopee Road

12: Crosspoint Church, 9801 France Ave.

13: Bloomington Covenant Church, 10150 Xerxes Ave.

14: Mt. Hope Lutheran Church, 3601 W. Old Shakopee Road

15: Minnesota Valley Unitarian Universalist Fellowship, 10715 Zenith Ave.

16: Normandale Hylands United Methodist Church, 9920 Normandale Blvd.

17: Hyland Hills Ski Area Chalet, 8800 Chalet Road

18: The Church of St. Edward’s, 9401 Nesbitt Ave.

19: St. Stephen Lutheran Church, 8400 France Ave.

20: St. Mark’s United Church of Christ, 8630 Xerxes Ave.

21: Richardson Nature Center, 8737 E. Bush Lake Road

22: St. Michael’s Lutheran Church, 9201 Normandale Blvd.

23: Community of the Cross Lutheran Church, 10701 Bloomington Ferry Road

24: Community of the Cross Lutheran Church, 10701 Bloomington Ferry Road

25: Minnesota Masonic Heritage Center, 11411 Masonic Home Drive

26: Transfiguration Lutheran Church, 11000 France Ave.

27: Bethany Church, 6900 Auto Club Road

28: Peace Lutheran Church, 8600 E. Bush Lake Road

29: Christ the King Lutheran Church, 8600 Fremont Ave.

30: Oak Grove Presbyterian Church, 2200 W. Old Shakopee Road

31: St. Bonaventure Catholic Church Social Hall, 901 E. 90th St.

32: Oxboro Evangelical Free Church, 9431 Nicollet Ave.

Copyright © 2018 at Sun Newspapers/ APG Media of East Central Minnesota. Digital dissemination of this content without prior written consent is a violation of federal law and may be subject to legal action.

Load comments