District 39 State Senator Karin Housley (R-St. Mary’s Point) won the Republican Primary for U.S. Senate Tuesday, Aug. 14. Housley will face Democrat Tina Smith in November in a special election for U.S. Senate seat vacated by former Senator Al Franken.

If Housley is elected to the U.S. Senate, her current elected position to the state legislature will be vacated and a special election will be called in early 2019. If she is not elected, she will continue serving in the Minnesota Senate.

The filing deadline for some county, city and township public offices was Tuesday, Aug. 14. Below is a list of who will be on the ballot for local offices come November.

Incumbent Bob Dettmer, GOP, will run for his seventh term as State Representative for District 39A against newcomer Ann Mozey, DFL. District 39A includes: Shafer Township, Shafer, Franconia Township, Scandia, Marine on St. Croix, Forest Lake, May Township, Stillwater Township and parts of Stillwater.

State Representative for District 39B incumbent Kathy Lohmer, GOP, will be challenged by Shelly Christensen, DFL, in November. Lohmer is currently in her fourth term in office. District 39B includes: Grant, Pine Springs, Lake Elmo, parts of Stillwater, Oak Park Heights, Bayport, Baytown Township, West Lakeland Township, Lakeland, Lakeland Shores, Lake St. Croix Beach and St. Mary’s Point. State Representative terms are two years long.

Two candidates have filed for Washington County Sheriff, current Sheriff Dan Starry and Paul Hoppe, the Public Safety Director and Police Chief for Wyoming, Minn. Starry stepped in as county sheriff after the former sheriff, Bill Hutton, announced his retirement in March 2017. Starry, the chief deputy at the time, stepped in to fulfill Hutton’s term through 2018.

Pete Orput is running unopposed for Washington County Attorney.

Stillwater School District School Board has four at large seats open and seven candidates have filed. Those candidates include: incumbent Shelley Pearson, Matthew M. Cooper, Jon Fila, Donald G. Hovland, Tina Riehle, Liz Weisberg and last minute addition Mark Burns.

Current Stillwater Mayor Ted Kozlowski is running unopposed for another term. Mayor terms last four years.

Stillwater City Council has two seats open and four candidates have filed. Two candidates, Ryan Collins and Brad Glynn, filed for the ward one seat. The other two candidates, incumbent Michael Polehna and Kenneth Walls, filed for the ward four seat. Council terms last four years and start at the beginning of the new year.

Oak Park Heights City Council has two at large seats open and three candidates have filed. Candidates include incumbent Mike Liljegren, Carly Johnson and David A. Beaudet, who threw his hat in the race on the day of filing deadline.

Lake Elmo City Council has two at large seats open and three candidates have filed. Candidates include incumbent Jill Lundren, Dale Dorschner and Lisa M. McGinn. Notably, current City Council member Julie Fliflet did not file for reelection. Council members serve four year terms.

Current Bayport Mayor Susan St. Ores is running for reelection and will be challenged by newcomer Robert McManus. Bayport City Council has two open seats with three candidates who have filed including: incumbent Michele Hanson, incumbent Patrick McGann and newcomer John Dahl. Mayor and Council terms last four years.

Contact Kim Schneider at kim.schneider@ecm-inc.com

Load comments