The 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be chosen from a field of 75 candidates, including some from the Anoka-Hennepin and Osseo Area school districts. These candidates have accepted their nominations and completed the required materials to become eligible for the honor.

The candidates for 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year from the Anoka-Hennepin School District include: Paul Heida, Todd Hunter, Joleen Lundin, and Jamie Weisz.

Osseo Area School District teachers include: Peter Pearson, Jessica Stewart, and Kristin Holsen.

This year’s program will name the 57th Minnesota Teacher of the Year. The program celebrates the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools.

An independent panel of leaders in the fields of education, business, government, nonprofit and philanthropy will read candidates’ portfolios over the next few weeks and narrow the list to a group of semifinalists.

In March, the panel will convene again and review additional materials from the semifinalists to choose a group of finalists. Because of safety precautions related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the scheduled Minnesota Teacher of the Year banquet, set for May 2 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre, may be postponed.

Organized and underwritten by Education Minnesota, the Minnesota Teacher of the Year program receives support from Education Minnesota ESI, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors, Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, SMART Technologies and United Educators Credit Union.

Copyright © 2021 at Sun Newspapers/ APG Media of East Central Minnesota. Digital dissemination of this content without prior written consent is a violation of federal law and may be subject to legal action.

Load comments