Three seats on the Anoka-Hennepin School Board will be up for election Nov. 5, including districts one, two and five. Community members living within those districts who are interested in serving on the board must file for election between July 30 and 5 p.m. Aug. 13. Members serve four-year terms.

District One includes Anoka and portions of Ramsey, Coon Rapids and Andover. This seat is currently held by Tom Heidemann, who has served on the board since January 2000. Heidemann is the current board chair and has served in that position since January 2009.

District Two includes Blaine and a portion of Coon Rapids. This seat is currently held by Marci Anderson, who has served on the school board since January 2008. Anderson is currently the vice chair and has served in that position since January 2013.

District Five includes Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Fridley and a portion of Coon Rapids. This seat is currently held by Nicole Hayes, who was appointed in February 2015, and elected to continue serving in November 2015.

Maps showing election districts are available on the Anoka-Hennepin School District website at ahschools.us/Page/22873. School Board candidates must be eligible to vote and 21 years of age or older. Candidates must also have been a resident of the specific election district for 30 days before the general election and must not have filed for any other office.

Persons interested in running for the board must file an Affidavit of Candidacy and pay a $2 filing fee by 5 p.m. Aug. 13. Candidate Filing Packets, which include the affidavit form, are available on the Anoka County Elections website at anokacounty.us/240/Candidate-Filing. Candidates must file in person at the Anoka County Elections office, 325 East Main Street, Room W130, Anoka.

For information about candidate filing, voter registration or the election process, contact the Anoka County Elections Office by email at elections@co.anoka.mn.us or by phone at 763-323-5275. For information about the Anoka-Hennepin Schools or serving as a School Board member, contact the Anoka-Hennepin Community Education office at 763-506-1269.

Load comments