CORRECTION: The version of this story that appeared in the July 30 print edition stated that early 'direct balloting' would be available in Rogers for the Aug. 11 primary election. Early direct balloting will be available for the Nov. 3 general election, but NOT for the Aug. 11 primary. The Crow River News apologizes for the error.

With Minnesota’s primary elections coming up on Aug. 11, voting is already underway. State officials have asked voters to consider casting their votes for the primary and the Nov. 3 general election by absentee ballot or by early voting where available.

Any Minnesota resident can request an absentee ballot online at for both the primary and general elections. Click on “Other ways to vote” and find “vote by mail.” Find the “go to online absentee application” and fill out the required information. Voters need to be an eligible voter, provide an email address, and provide an identification number (state-issued driver’s license number, Minnesota ID card or the last four digits of their Social Security number). Ballots sent in by mail must be postmarked by the date of the election question in order for them to count.

Absentee ballots may also be turned in in-person. All counties have an election office that is accepting ballots during business hours. Hennepin County residents may go to the Government Center at 300 South 6th Street MC 012, Minneapolis. Wright County voters may go to the Wright County Elections Division at 10 2nd Street NW, Room 230, Buffalo. Some municipalities also accept absentee ballots at a city hall or other government center. See the city-by-city guide later in this article for details.

Some races that will appear on the general election ballot will require a primary vote. Those that will include the two U.S. Congressional races local to the area. In District 3, which includes Rogers, Corcoran, Medina, Loretto, Greenfield and Independence, DFL incumbent Dean Phillips faces a primary challenge from Cole Young. Contesting the Republican primary to become challenger to Phillips are Kendall Qualls and Leslie Davis.

There will be no DFL primary in Congressional District, a wide-ranging district that locally covers Rockford, St. Michael, Albertville and Hanover.

Tanja Zahradka of Forest Lake is the only DFL candidate to enter the race. GOP incumbent Tom Emmer will be challenged for the nomination by Patrick Munro.

Residents of Corcoran, Greenfield, Medina, Rogers, Rockford and the Hennepin County section of Hanover will also have a chance to vote in the primary for Hennepin County Commissioner, District 7. Entered in that race are Kevin Anderson, Danny Nadeau and Kim Zellers.

State Senate District 34, covering the cities of Dayton, Maple Grove, Osseo and Rogers, will have GOP incumbent Warren Limmer and DFLers Aarica Coleman and Bonnie Westlin on the ballot.

Voter’s guides for the first three races named above appeared in last week’s Crow River News. A guide for the State Senate District 34 race is found within this issue. Voters will also see candidates for one of Minnesota’s U.S. Senate seats. DFLer Tina Smith is the incumbent and faces a primary challenges from a number of candidates. From a large field of GOP challengers, former U.S. Representative Jason Lewis is expected to be the favorite for the nomination.

In-person voting is still available for all elections. Here is a look at where area residents may cast their ballots in person. In all areas, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.


In a change from recent years, Albertville voting is now split between two precincts. The area south of Interstate 94 and west of State Highway 19 is now Precinct 1 and will vote at the usual location, STMA Middle School West (11343 50th Street NE). Voters who live elsewhere in the city are in Precinct 2 and will vote the St. Albert Parish Center (11458 57th Street NE).


Absentee ballots can be dropped off at City Hall (8200 County Road 116).

Aug. 11 voting is divided among three precincts. Precinct 1 will vote at St. Thomas the Apostle Church (20000 County Road 10). Precinct 2 will vote at Hope Community Church (19951 Oswald Farm Road). Precinct 3 will vote at City Hall.


All Greenfield residents will vote at City Hall (7738 Commerce Circle) on Aug. 11.


All Independence residents will vote at City Hall (1920 County Road 90) on Aug. 11.


Medina residents will be able to drop off absentee ballots at Medina City Hall (2052 County Rd 24) starting Tuesday, Aug. 4. Hours will be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Aug. 4-7. On Saturday, Aug. 8, ballots can be dropped off from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. and on Monday, Aug. 10, ballots can be dropped off from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Aug. 11 voting is split between two precincts, which also follow school district boundaries. Residents within the boundaries of the Orono (ISD 278) and Delano (ISD 879) school districts vote at City Hall. Residents within the boundaries of the Wayzata (ISD 284) and Rockford (ISD 883) school districts vote at the Hamel Community Building (3200 Mill Drive).


All Rockford residents vote at one location, the Rockford Community Center (7600 County Road 50).


The city of Rogers has opted out of in-person absentee balloting due to concerns over COVID-19. 

For Aug. 11 voting, Precinct 1 will vote at the Rogers Activity Center (21080 141st Avenue N) and Precinct 2 will vote at the Community Room.

St. Michael

St. Michael residents may vote early if they choose, by going to City Hall during normal business hours now through Monday, Aug. 10. City Hall will also be open for extended hours on Saturday, Aug. 8 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. for voting.

For Aug. 11 in-person voting, the city is divided into two precincts. Persons residing west of County Road 19 will vote in the activity center of St. Michael-Albertville High School (5800 Jamison Avenue NE). Those living east of County Road 19 vote in the gymnasium of STMA Middle School East (4862 Naber Avenue NE).

Alicia Miller contributed to this report.

Load comments