Election 2020 MT

The field of candidates in Monticello and Big Lake has grown, with three members of local planning commissions among candidates filing for seats on their respective city councils.

In Monticello, planning commission chairman Sam Murdoff has filed for one of two city council seats on the Nov. 3 ballot. In Big Lake, planning commission chair Alan Heidemann filed for one of two regular city council seats. Longtime planning commission member and commission vice-chair Ketti Green filed for the council seat open in a special election. 

Back in Monticello, joining Murdoff in filing for city council is incumbent Jim Davidson, Brian Hudgins. Dustin Stahlback, and Aaron Glanz.

In the Monticello mayoral race, City Council member Lloyd Hilgart has filed to follow Brian Stumpf as mayor. As of the Times’ Tuesday afternoon press time, Hilgart was the only person to file for the mayoral position.

As of the afternoon of Tuesday, Aug. 11, it was a four-way race for two openings for regular seats on the Big Lake City Council. In addition to Heidemann, former city council member Dick Backland, Sam Hanson and Paul Seefeld filed for the regular seats on the city council, according to the office of the Minnesota Secretary of State. Ketti Green and Ken Halvorson filed for the council seat open in a special election.

In the race for Big Lake mayor, incumbent Mike Wallen is being challenged by Paul Knier, a current member of the Big Lake City Council.

In the races for three seats on the Big Lake Township board of supervisors, Dean Brenteson and Eric Rosa have filed for Seat 1, and Bruce Aubol for Seat 3 while Mark Hedstrom and Judy Wilts have filed for the special election for Seat 4 supervisor. 

In Silver Creek Township, no candidate filed for Seat 1 on the township board. Sandy Forsman filed for Seat 4 and Michael Ludenia filed for Seat 5. 

Both the Monticello and Big Lake school boards have three seats on the Nov. 3 ballot.

On Tuesday, Aug. 11, Monticello School Board member Jeff Hegle filed for re-election. Late Tuesday afternoon, Jamie Sieben and Kathy Ziebarth also filed for Monticello School Board. School Board President Jill Hoffman and School Board Member Missy Hanson, whose seats are up along with that of Jeff Hegle's, dis not file for re-election, according to the Secretary of State’s office.

In Big Lake, four candidates came forward in the final two days of the filing period: Incumbents Tony Scales and Amber Sixberry are seeking re-election. Katelyn Anne Bland and Barbara Chaffee also filed election papers.

The filing period for the 2020 city, township and school board elections closed at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, August 11. 


Jeff Hage is the managing editor of the Monticello Times. He majored in journalism at the University of Wisconsin- Eau Claire.

Load comments