Robyn Dettling Madson, an English teacher at Forest Lake High School, is one of 10  teachers from across the state named a finalist in the 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year program.

A selection panel of 22 leaders in the areas of education, business, government and non-profits selected the finalists from a group of 34 semifinalists. There were 111 Teacher of the Year candidates for this program year.

The selection panel meets again May 5 to conduct individual interviews with the 10 finalists and to cast votes for the 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

The 2011 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Katy Smith of the Winona School District, will announce this year’s honoree at a banquet at The Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park on Sunday, May 6.

Education Minnesota, the 70,000-member statewide educators’ union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers from public or private schools.

The Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program also receives support from the following organizations: The SMARTer Kids Foundation, The Northland Inn, United Educators Credit Union, the Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, Education Minnesota ESI, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, Pearson Education and TruStone Financial. This year marks the program’s 48th anniversary.

10 Finalists

The 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year finalists are:

Christy Anderson, Mahtomedi, Mathematics, Grade 5, O.H. Anderson Elementary School

David Borash, Brainerd, Social Studies, Grades 11-12 , Brainerd Senior High School

Ryan Canton, St. Michael-Albertville, U.S. History, Grade 8, St. Michael-Albertville Middle School West

Bruce Danielson, Cambridge-Isanti, Mathematics, Grade 11, Cambridge-Isanti High School

Robyn Dettling Madson, Forest Lake, English, Grades 10-12, Forest Lake High School

Neil Eerdmans, Anoka-Hennepin, Elementary, Grade 3, Oxbow Creek Elementary School

Greg Goddard, St. Louis Park, AP Psychology/IB Psychology, Grades 11-12, St. Louis Park High School

Joe Meyer, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage, Language Arts, Grades 8-9, Eagle Ridge Junior High School

Eric Oppegard, Owatonna, Elementary, Grade 5, Lincoln Elementary School

Jackie Roehl, Edina, English, Grade 10, Edina High School

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.