Philolectian Society Scholarships.jpg

Eight girls were awarded scholarships from the Philolectian Society May 3 during a meeting at the Green Haven Golf and Banquet Center. Pictured from left: Kayla Markuson, Champlin Park High School; Emily Bachand, Champlin Park High School; Yanai Sun, Coon Rapids High School; Briana Clifton, Coon Rapids High School; Dzidedi Azumah, Coon Rapid High School; Katelyn Karrow, Anoka High School and Angela Belous, Coon Rapids High School. Not pictured is Lucy Anderson of Andover High School.

The Philolectian Society of Anoka awarded eight girls $1,500 scholarships.

Each year the society awards scholarships to girls attending Andover, Anoka, Blaine, Champlin Park and Coon Rapids high schools .

To be eligible, girls must have a GPA of at least 3.25 or an ACT score of 20 or above. An applicant’s school activities, scholastic performance, community involvement and a personal interview are all taken into consideration as well.

The Philolectian Society is a local civic organization founded in the 1890s focused on the love of learning.

Load comments