Lino Lakes Mayor Jeff Reinert will face off in February with Cindy Hansen, former Spring Lake Park mayor, for a seat on the Anoka County Board.

The two earned the most votes of the six candidates on the ballot in a special primary Nov. 5 for a vacant seat representing District 6 on the County Board.

Reinert led the pack with 42.56% of the total vote (1,826 votes), followed by Hansen with 24.50% (1,051 votes), according to unofficial results from the Secretary of State’s Office. Next in line, Craig Johnson garnered 18.28% (784 votes), while Karen Lodico took 9.21% (395 votes). Kevin Ryan had 4.24% (182 votes), and Donovan McGuire came in last at 1.21% (52 votes).

Results are unofficial until canvassed by the County Board.

Reinert and Hansen advance to a special election Feb. 11, 2020, and the winner will fill the seat left vacant by Rhonda Sivarajah, who stepped down in June to become county administrator.

Whoever wins won’t serve for long before facing reelection, because the seat will be on the ballot again in November 2020.

Vote totals have been updated to reflect changes to the numbers reported on the Secretary of State's website.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.